The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Salsa’s Mexican Cantina

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on April 17, 2009

My wife’s sister and brother-in-law came to town this evening, and we wanted someplace close that we could walk to for a meal. They suggested Mexican, and since I had just been to Don Pedro’s, my wife recommended Salsa’s in Ayrsley.

My recommendation: It’s nothing spectacular. In fact, I probably would recommend Don Pedro’s over Salsa’s, although Salsa’s is a distinctly nicer restaurant on pretty much every account.
Overall: While the food is of good quality, and the service was good, I can’t say that it has really left much of an impression with me. It’s not a bad restaurant… just lackluster.
Ambiance: Salsa’s is a Mexican restaurant that’s still seeking it’s an identity. The free-flowing fountain, and somewhat elegant decor is somehow undermined by the flat screen TV showing Latin American soccer, as if the restaurant WANTS to be a sports bar. The outdoor seating area perhaps supports this assertion, but the flat screen displaying MSNBC Money somehow undermines the sports bar intentions. And the free salsa and chips simply reminds you that it’s neither a sports bar or elegant restaurant, but just a Mexican restaurant.
Menu: Mexican. While standard Mexican is certainly available, including burritos, enchiladas, fajitas, and tacos, the prices are not reminiscent of the authentic inexpensive Don Pedro’s up the street.
Something you won’t find on most menus: $6 guacamole. It’s tasty, but I’m not sure it justifies it’s $6 price tag.
Service: Prompt and friendly, but nothing spectacular. I drink water like a fiend, and they were good about keeping me topped off.
Food: I had the combination platter with two cheese enchiladas and a beef burrito. It came with Mexican rice and refried beans, and it was all very good. In general, the food is very good, and I feel like the ingredients are of generally high quality, which is perhaps inconsistent with what I normally expect from a Mexican restaurant (too much Taco Bell, I guess). The bill was a little steep at $37 (no alcohol, no dessert).
2015 Ayrsley Town Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28273

Salsa's Mexican Cantina on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

 
