The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Belize and Isla Roatan

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on June 2, 2009

Towel Animals!!

Every night, usually while at dinner, the cabin steward (pretty much like your hotel maid, but available all the time!) comes to your room to turn down the bed, leave chocolates (yum!), provide the next day’s schedule, and make everyone’s favorite – towel animals! Each night we looked forward to seeing which animal would be spending the night in our room.  Catching back up with friends, everyone would share pictures of what animals they had in their rooms.  My personal favorite was the monkey 🙂

cruise towel monkey

Ok, back to the ports of call!

Belize

Our next port of call was Belize and the group planned in advance for this stop.  When looking at the cruise sponsored excursions, we found the Lost World Canopy Tour, a zipline adventure across the top of a Belize rainforest approximately an hour and a half away from port.  Often times the excursions sponsored by the ship are priced higher than if they’re booked individually, but we decided (after we were done) that this one was definitely worth it.

We had certain ideas in our minds of what the excursion would be like and became somewhat concerned on the bus ride out.  Belize looked flat and dry! But as we continued down the very bumpy road, all of a sudden green appeared and we were there.  We got off of the bus, walked up some steps, and found ourselves in a cave.

cave

We put on all of our gear (helmets, harnesses, gloves, and carabiners) and headed on the “hike” to the first zipline.  (It was more like a short walk up some man-made steps through through the forest – a good walk but definitely not a hike.)

cave hike

The husband looking spiffy in his hat 😉

justin helmet

There were four or five zip lines (some of them blur together!) and two rappels (way scarier than the zip lines!)

waiting to zipline

Overall it was a beautiful and fun experience! The husband didn’t think I would make it (I’m quite afraid of heights!) but I proved him wrong and had an amazing time.  If you ever find yourself in Belize, or any other rain forest area with a zip line, I highly recommend it (even if you’re afraid of heights).

Isla Roatan (Honduras)

I’m not generally a beach person, especially when I can’t guarantee that I’ll have an umbrella to lay under (I burn easily, even with sunblock, and I don’t like being hot!), so I was semi-hesitant about going anywhere on Isla Roatan.  A few friends in our group were in the process of getting their scuba diving certification and had arranged their final two dives directly through a local resort, Las Rocas.  The resort offered to send a shuttle out to the port to pick up the entire group (all of 12 of us) even though only 4 would be diving.

When we arrived, we fell in love immediately!

isla roatan 1

(I wish I took more/better photos to share!)

Staying on ship time, it was only 6am!! local time when we arrived on the island.  It caused the weather to be perfect for me 🙂 I was able to lay out on the sand for nearly two hours before hiding under cover the rest of the day.

us at isla roatan

They had numerous covered tables overlooking the water, cheap tasty beer, and yummy french fries.  I was in heaven and completely relaxed!

isla roatan 8

They had bungalows all over the place, many with hammocks.  We could very much see coming back without the cruise.

Unfortunately, we only got to a spend a few hours in paradise here before returning to the boat which was heading to see and back to Tampa.  All in all, it was a very relaxing and fun cruise!  We can’t wait to start planning our next one 🙂

2 Responses to “Belize and Isla Roatan”

  1. Stacy said

    Sounds wonderful… I need to a zip line again. (I do keep threatening to put one in out of my office window to the grocery store across the street….)

  2. Danielle said

    What beautiful countries you visited! They are both definitely on my list 🙂

    And great blog too, I hope my life is similar to yours one day I absolutely love traveling!

Leave a Reply

 
