The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Boulevard Woodgrill

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on August 1, 2009

One of my favorite areas in the Northern Virginia (DC) area is the Arlington corridor that includes Rosslyn, Courthouse, Clarendon, and Ballston.  (For those familiar with the area, you’ll notice that a lot of my DC posts recently and coming up are in this area.)  I stayed at a hotel in Courthouse and was able to easily walk to all of these areas as well as Georgetown (when I went to SweetGreen).  I am so much more of a city girl than a country girl – I LOVE being able to walk anywhere and every where or being able to jump on the Metro to head somewhere that’s a bit farther 🙂

On the 4th of July, when trying to determine where to go to dinner with friends prior to seeing fireworks, we were hoping to try somewhere somewhat new.  With the help of UrbanSpoon on our iphones, we chose Boulevard Woodgrill.  Unfortunately, when we showed up it was closed for the holiday and we ended up going to Whitlow’s on Wilson.

One of the reviews on UrbanSpoon raved about Boulevard Woodgrill‘s mac & cheese so I was hopeful that I could make it there one day while I was still in town.  I got that opportunity one day after doing some house hunting with my parents.

125_0710

125_0711

I decided to get the pulled pork sandwich and had meant to substitute the fries for the mac n cheese but miscommunicated with the waiter on my order.  The sandwich was tasty (though I’m now partial to North Carolina BBQ) and the fries were good.

125_0712

The highlight however was indeed the mac & cheese.  It was HUGE, creamy, cheesy – just delish.  It should have been a meal in itself.

125_0713

I ate about half (along with half of my sandwich) and saved the rest (along with my parents’ dishes of mac & cheese) for lunch for later during my trip.  As leftovers, the mac & cheese was still great.  If you are a mac & cheese lover like the Husband and I (i’ve just added a tag for mac & cheese since we try it at pretty much any restaurant that serves it), you should try to get out to Boulevard Woodgrill to try theirs!

Boulevard Woodgrill on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Boulevard Woodgrill”

  1. Stacy said

    OMG… that mac and cheese looks DELISH!!!

Leave a Reply

 
