The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Red Mango – Neither Red, nor Mango

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on September 19, 2009

As many of you know, we’re good friends with Kath from KERF.  Kath’s husband and I (this is the Husband writing, BTW) were home brewing one day at their house, and Kath asked if I was interested in a gift card to Red Mango.  There are no Red Mangos in Charlotte, but I was headed to New York the following week, so she wanted to know if I would like to try it.  I didn’t know what it was, evidently it’s frozen yogurt, but I said yes.  I’m usually up to try anything once.

Evidently, Red Mango is a South Korean product that has made its way to the U.S. and is making inroads in the frozen yogurt market.  I went with a couple co-workers, one of whom has lived in Greece and spent significant time in India; two places that yogurt is a daily staple, although not generally of the frozen variety.

We walked in, and it generally looked like any other specialty food service store (ice cream, frozen yogurt, donuts, etc.).  The counter was in the front with the limited fare behind the counter.  I asked what “flavors” they had; I could already see the available toppings.  They had “original”, pomegranate, green tea, and tangomonium.   Evidently, the “tangomonium” is their signature yogurt, so I figured I would try it with chocolate chips.  My coworker tried a tangomonium with no toppings.

You know how most things taste better whenever it’s free?  Well, evidently it doesn’t apply to frozen yogurt.  I would like to come up with some colorful word to describe how bad it was, but all of them are well into the “four letter” category, so I will settle for crummy.  It was crummy.  It was so crummy that I didn’t finish mine.  It was so crummy that the chocolate chips couldn’t mask the crumminess of the yogurt.  It was so crummy, that my coworker (the pseudo-yogurt expert) commented that “If you told me this yogurt had gone bad, I’d believe it.”  It was bad.

I will not be giving it a second chance.

To Kath:  My non-appreciation of the yogurt does NOT translate into non-appreciation for the gift card.  I appreciate you thinking of me, and I’m glad you didn’t have to endure any of aforementioned crumminess.

P.S. – Before I get too many comments about the title of this blog; I am well aware that I am neither gingerbread, nor a pirate.  I just like both.

Red Mango on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Red Mango – Neither Red, nor Mango”

  1. Kath said

    So sad. I bet I wouldve liked it!

  2. hungrywanderers said

    I think a big problem with new folks trying the tart yogurt is that they’re expecting it to taste like yogurt – but it’s more of a frozen liquid tart that’s slightly creamy. While I can’t speak for Red Mango since I wasn’t there, it sounds like it was like SweetGreen which I kinda liked in DC. There’s a place here in Charlotte that has the same kind of yogurt so perhaps the Husband will get a second taste soon with different expectations before the first bite 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
