The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Vickery’s

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on October 8, 2009

On Monday, on our way out of Charleston heading back to Charlotte, we took a recommendation from a local to try out Vickery’s on Shem Creek.

IMG_0712

IMG_0713

IMG_0714

The weather was gorgeous and we wanted to take advantage of the great water views we were told about so we sat out on the deck.  Other than some crazy wind which required us to keep an eye on our table’s umbrella, it was perfect outside!

IMG_0715

Shem Creek has lots of fisherman boats (or shrimp boats) to fish all of the amazing shrimp we’d had all weekend!

IMG_0717

IMG_0718

IMG_0719

IMG_0720

In the distance, you could see the bridge that takes you to the historical area of Charleston.

IMG_0721

IMG_0722

The Husband ordered a Spaten Oktoberfest while I decided to stick with water for the first time this weekend 🙂

IMG_0716

Loving the shrimp I had the night before and craving some pasta, I went with the Shrimp Penne with tomatoes, portabella mushrooms, and parmesan.  Although annoyed that the shrimp had their tail shells still on (I hate when that happens in pasta dishes), this was amazing!  Shrimp has won a spot in my menu again 🙂 I’ll just need to get it locally and fresh!

IMG_0723

The Husband went with the Crabcake sandwich.  While the crab was fresh, I think the Husband was disappointed with the amount of filler 😦

IMG_0724

When I saw the dessert menu, even though I wasn’t hungry, I knew I had to order the Lemon Raspberry Cheesecake.  This is specifically my favorite birthday treat and since I didn’t have cake on my birthday (other than my cupcake at Baked 🙂  ), I had to order this!

IMG_0728

The Husband split it with me and it was great! It tasted homemade… Clearly we enjoyed it… 🙂

IMG_0729

Vickery’s was a great way to end our Charleston vacation.  I’m so happy that we were finally able to make it to Charleston and I look forward to going back!

Vickery's Bar & Grill Downtown on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Vickery’s”

  1. Heather said

    yum! that cheesecake looks awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
