The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

  • Welcome to the Hungry Wanderers!

  • Have any recommendations or places you'd like us to review?

    Contact us!
    hungrywanderers AT gmail DOT com

  • Search This Blog

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • The Hungry Wanderers Las Vegas restaurants
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Cake Love

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on November 1, 2009

So, I don’t think I’ve posted enough about them yet, but I love cupcakes! I love how small they are and I love that they come with frosting šŸ™‚ So, after lunch at Redrock Canyon Grill in Silver Spring, Maryland, I went directly across the small street to check out cakelove.

For those of you that watch the Food Network’s Ace of Cakes, there are a small number of locations in the DC area.Ā  While the Husband and I were dating, I lived in the Dupont Circle area of Washington, DC and fell in love with cakelove’s sister location, Love Cafe, just a few blocks from my apartment.Ā  I hadn’t yet been to the cakelove location in Silver Spring and was excited to check out the selection!

IMG_1001

There were cupcakes of course!

IMG_0997

And cake slices to choose from!

IMG_0998

IMG_0999

IMG_1000

I was craving something lemony but unfortunately none of the options that day include lemon šŸ˜¦ I debated for a while and decided to go with a chocolate cupcake with strawberry frosting.Ā  I wasn’t hungry due to my filling lunch, so I got mine to go.

IMG_1002

I saved it until the next day when we were heading to my friend’s wedding.Ā  I had kept it in the fridge overnight so after I let it come to room temperature (important for buttercream frosting!), I dug in.

IMG_1003

It was, as expected, so good! The frosting tasted just like strawberries and the cupcake was moist and chocolaty. Yum! I heart cupcakes šŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Cake Love”

  1. Stacy said

    I so love cupcakes too! Two days this week there were free cupcakes at work – you know that equals a GREAT week!!

  2. Michelle said

    WOW!!! I definitely see many cupcakes done right!!! I love the concept of your blog. hahah hungry + wandering makes for a fun adventure. I’m a big fan of trying different restaurants and am glad I found someone who loves doin’ the same thing too! hehe Have a lovely Sunday!

  3. So, the cupcakes DID look great. And I know the Wife said they were good. They were also $3.25 each. I just couldn’t get over the price. They weren’t monster-sized… or special toppings… they just looked like Betty Crocker cupcakes being sold in a store. For me, they needed something to set their product apart from others, aside from their ridiculous price.

    • Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers said

      Since he didn’t actually taste them, he didn’t know what he was missing šŸ™‚ As a special treat, I don’t mind paying that much. The cost would certainly deter me from making it a weekly thing, but they’re worth it for a special occasion. They are no betty crocker šŸ™‚ (which I do love for what they are)

  4. Jaclyn said

    i’m actually surprised they charge that much. i just got a dozen cupcakes for a coworker’s birthday at buttercup (one of the magnolia spin-offs here in NYC) and they were only $2. sugar sweet sunshine (my favorite!) charges $1.50, i believe. i agree though, totally fine to splurge for a special occasion. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
