The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Dean & Deluca

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on November 1, 2009

Yesterday, after participating in the Charlotte Runway 5K, Kath, Matt, the Husband and I decided to meet up again later in the day for lunch and pedicures (for the girls) and books and beer (for the boys).  Knowing that we’d be eating a lot at our respective Halloween festivities, we wanted to go light with our late lunch and decided to go with Dean & Deluca for sandwiches and salads.

My first exposure to Dean & Deluca was in college watching one of my favorite shows at the time: Felicity 🙂 (Anybody else love the show??)  My first actual time getting to go to a Dean & Deluca was while living in Washington, DC (the city proper).  There was a location in Georgetown and I remember having some amazing macaroni & cheese!

Since becoming friends with Kath, I’ve been to both Charlotte locations and go to them when I want to splurge on some amazing salad!

IMG_1045

IMG_1046

It was a gloomy day here in Charlotte so we decided to sit inside instead of outside where there were plenty of tables looking over a fountain.

Before Kath and Matt arrived, the Husband and I perused the many display cases and shelves of yummy gourmet foods.  There were cakes

IMG_1048

Other desserts, mini cakes, tarts, and pastries…

IMG_1049

A hot and cold food bar… (where I would have found mac & cheese if they had any!)

IMG_1050

And chilled beverages…

IMG_1047

In addition to the prepared foods, you’re able to have salads, sandwiches, and pizzas made from scratch for you.

IMG_1051

IMG_1053

IMG_1052

As planned, I got a small salad.  I went with their House Salad (which I love!).  It has mixed greens, goat cheese, roasted red peppers, pine nuts, and balsamic vinagarette on the side.  They don’t skimp on the goat cheese and it’s awesome!

IMG_1054

Because it was slightly chilly, I was also looking for something to warm me up.  I went with a small Tomato Ravioli soup.  Lots of fresh vegetables and large raviolis.  I would definitely get this again!

IMG_1055

The Husband went with a Ham & Brie sandwich which he had heated up on the panini press.  He said the sandwich was just “ok” – there were onions in a sauce that were just way too strong for his taste :-/

IMG_1056

On the side, he tried the Dean & Deluca Spicy Potato Chips.  We each tried one and agreed that they weren’t at all spicy but were very tasty.

IMG_1057

Kath’s salad unfortunately had a lot of lettuce in it that had gone bad.  However, she took it up to the counter and they gladly made her a new one that was way better.

This was a great light lunch before we headed off for our pedicures and books/beer 🙂

Have any of you been to any of the other Dean & Deluca locations? What did you think?

Dean & Deluca (Phillips Place) on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Dean & Deluca”

  1. Jocelyn said

    All of the cakes look realy good 🙂 I don’t think we have dean and deluca here in Canada unless they have one in Toronto 🙂
    I used to watch Felicity all the time and always wanted to go to one in NYC lol.

  2. emyline12 said

    So funny – when I first moved to Charlotte D&D was one of the first places we went. I kept telling Casey we haaad to go because it was SO GOOD. He asks when I’ve had it before, and I have to fess up – NEVER. “But Felicity and Ben worked there, and I’ve always wanted to go!”

    Totally loved that show. Watched it til the bitter end, probably long after I should have stopped!

    Yay for yoga! Looking forward to doing it again:)

  3. traveleatlove said

    I loved Felicity! And Dean & Deluca is great; I wish we had one here.

Leave a Reply

 
