The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Just Around the Corner

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on November 20, 2009

As I was driving around downtown Atlanta, I saw this little hole in the wall in the Southwest corner of Centennial Park.  The moment I saw it, I thought, “I NEED to get down here and have lunch at some point.”  It looked like a little greasy spoon with lots of personality.

It had personality, but it wasn’t the diamond in the rough I was looking for; more like a lump of coal.

It was everything I dreamed it could be.  I walked in, and checked out the menu. It reminded me a bit of Primanti Bros., but not as branded.

There’s actually more to the menu, but the store is so narrow that this is all I could get into the shot!  It took me forever to decide if  I wanted a burger or cheesesteak.  After deliberating the pros and cons, as if I were deciding between renting or buying a home, I decided on the cheesesteak.   I also added a side of chili cheese fries.  My co-worker ordered a burger.

The fries were yumtastic, as one might expect for fresh fries with canned cheese and chili loaded on top, but the cheesesteak was awfully lackluster.  The meat was pretty dry.  I didn’t really find any cheese, and I think the “special sauce” was so lightly applied that I couldn’t really tell if the sauce was any good, or if the meat had been seasoned.

Just Around the Corner on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

 
