The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Hudson Grille

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on November 21, 2009

I got back to the hotel late one night while in Atlanta.  I was exhausted, but hungry.  As I checked in with one of my co-workers, he said that young man at the front desk, Xavier, recommended the Hudson Grille at the Perimeter Mall.  It wasn’t far from the hotel, so we considered giving it a try.

What sweetened the deal was that the hotel had “get a free award winning dessert with the purchase of an entree” coupons.  How could four mildly-overweight men resist!?!  So, four of us packed up and headed over to the mall.

When we got there, we thought it surprisingly busy for a Wednesday night.  We were able to get a table right away, with no problems, but it was the only open table I saw.   It was clearly as sports bar, with TVs all around.  It was dim, but not dark.  It was trivia night, so there were plenty of people playing trivia with a live D.J.; gift certificates to the winners.  It was a fun environment, and we had high hopes for our evening meal.

Our friendly waitress, Jessica, told us about the specials, to include lobster bisque.  It was also “take home your pint night”, featuring one of my favorite beers, Terrapin Beer Co.’s, Athens’ own, Rye Pale Ale.  I ordered a beer, both so I could enjoy one of my favorite’s, and have a pint glass from one of my favorite breweries.

Now, I really like the Rye Pale Ale.  I’m not sure if our reader is aware, but I’m a homebrewer.  It is the Terrapin Rye beer, which I first had in Raliegh, NC, on our road trip to get married, that caused me to attempt multiple Rye Ale brews.  I know what the Rye Pale Ale tastes like, and I’m not sure that THIS beer was the Rye Pale Ale.  Something didn’t seem quite right about the taste, and the color seemed a little dark.  To be fair, the restaurant was dark, and I had oral surgery last week, and some of my tasting has been a little off.  I gave it the benefit of the doubt, and managed to choke it down.

The menu was full of tasty options, but as it was after 9:30, so I opted for the spicy shrimp salad, but I just couldn’t resist a cup of the lobster bisque.

The salad was good, although the dressing was a little thick.  It WAS spicy.  I like spicy food, and have a substantial (but not insurmountable) spice tolerance, and this salad made me sweat.  It was good, though.  Interestingly, aside from all the tasty toppings, the shrimp were sliced laterally into thin, thin slices.  This made it so that almost every bite had a slice of shrimp in it, and it was well-complemented with the rest of the salad, dressing notwithstanding.

Finally, it was time for our dessert.  As we looked at our coupons, we realized it was for a dessert “one per table.”  We were disheartened, but though we might ask Jessica, who had otherwise been a stellar server, might have been able to work a little paperwork magic to ensure we could all enjoy more dessert than we were entitled.

She told us flatly, that there was nothing she could do.  <sigh>  I ordered some banana-type dessert for the table (it’s amazing how simply writing a blog somehow gives you peer credibility about whether a dessert may or may not be good), and asked her what she thought of the dessert.  Evidently, Jessica was a chocoholic, and had no need for the banana dessert, but countered that the white chocolate mousse cake was good.  Being a chocoholic myself, for just a split second, Jessica had just managed to leap to the number three woman in my life; right behind the Wife and Mom, respectively.

Uhhhh… I’d like to change my order, please?  White chocolate mousse cake, it is… on three plates (one of the guys copped out on dessert).

Now, the picture above is not a picture of the table’s piece of cake.  It’s a picture of MY cake.  The piece was huge, and it came out with two other, equally-large pieces.  I’m not sure if she just cut a big piece for us, and split it, or if she just took three pieces, but she took good care of her, despite her bureaucratic quandary.  The cake was as wonderful as the generosity, and her effort was duly noted by the table, and netted her a 30% tip.

As we walked out the door, doped up on chocolate.  I took a couple pictures of the front of the store, and realized I forgot my new pint Terrapin glass. I ran back in, and our waitress had it sitting aside, as the table was being bussed.

The food was good, the environment was great, but the service was exquisite.

Hudson Grille on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Hudson Grille”

  1. tasty looking chocolate cake!

Leave a Reply

 
