The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

  • Welcome to the Hungry Wanderers!

  • Have any recommendations or places you'd like us to review?

    Contact us!
    hungrywanderers AT gmail DOT com

  • Search This Blog

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • The Hungry Wanderers Las Vegas restaurants
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Comfort Suites Perimeter Center

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on November 29, 2009

I was in Atlanta last week, and my co-workers and I stayed at the Comfort Suites Perimeter Center.  I’m a ChoiceHotels loyalty guy, and when I can, I try to stay at one of the ChoiceHotels brands.  I get a corporate discount (~10%), it meets my basic needs, usually, and I find the spectrum of the hotels mean I can find a reasonably-priced hotel wherever I travel.  Another big benefit, for me, is that all ChoiceHotels have free internet.  Most of these are free wireless, but for the Comfort Suites Perimeter, it was wireless in the lobby, but wired in the rooms (with some rooms being able to pirate the lobby’s wireless).  I had a room on the top floor, so I was “stuck” with wired.

The Comfort Suites Perimeter was nice enough.  It certainly wasn’t the nicest Comfort Suites I’ve stayed in, but I got one of the largest rooms in the hotel for under $100/night.  It did have a lot of nice amenities, though.  Beyond the aforementioned internet access, other benefits of the hotel included a free warm breakfast, including Belgian waffles and scrambled eggs, and a complimentary USA Today newspaper.  There was a gym and a pool, too.  I have to say that the gym was nicer than most hotel’s, actually.  It included a sauna and had several pieces of equipment and a good selection of free weights.

The bed was perhaps one of the most plush I have had in a long time at a hotel, and the linens were very nice.

It was a two-room suite with a small “kitchen” (microwave and refrigerator).  For extended stays, it’s not that I’m going to cook a full 6-course meal in my hotel room, but I find it’s always nice to have somewhere to put your leftovers, or tuck some bottled water that I bought at the grocery store.

The bathroom had clearly been recently redone, with a nice big mirror, and a nice granite vanity top.  Even the lighting and shelves were nice.  Yes, I know the white balance is all off in these pictures.  I’m still trying to master the new camera and Picasa to get it all right.

The tub was a jacuzzi-type tub, and the shower had two shower heads, which was nice.  The curtain rod was one of the “shower extending”-type, which was really unnecessary, considering how big the tub already made the shower.

There was also a sizable living area, with a love seat (with fold-out bed), separate TV (there was TV in the bedroom, which you cannot see in the above picture).  The TVs are standard CRTs; I guess they haven’t gotten around to updating the TV sets, yet).

Finally, one of the big pluses to this hotel was its proximity to the MARTA station.  It was about 0.75 miles to the MARTA, and was a nice, safe walk, even during the evening hours.

I would definitely recommend the Comfort Suites Perimeter that was looking for a convenient, full-featured hotel for business or casual personal travel at a reasonable price.  I would probably recommend one of the more upscale hotels in Downtown or Buckhead for personal travel for those looking for more access to personal luxuries.

Leave a Reply

 
