The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Atlanta’s Architecture

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on November 30, 2009

Well, much like Pittsburgh, I was very pleasantly surprised with the architecture I found in Atlanta.  What made Atlanta a little different was that the architecture was clearly different in Downtown vice the Buckhead area.  In Downtown, the architecture had some more “modern” buildings, but a lot of the architecture was definitively more conservative or simply old, with a lot of the buildings having that mid-70s flare.

In contrast, the architecture in the Buckhead area, about 5 miles north of Downtown, had more sharp angles, and had a  distinctly more contemporary feel to it all.

Take a look at the below pictures of Downtown, and see what I mean.


Now take a look at the architecture in the Buckhead area.

After seeing two major cities with such rich architecture, it makes me wonder if I would be able to find architecture like this in our home of Washington, D.C.  I know I could find the “old” and conservative architecture, as the White House, Congress, Smithsonian, memorials, etc. are all there, but could I find the new architecture there?  Maybe some in the close in suburbs of Silver Spring and Arlington, but I’m not sure.

Either way, I am impressed with Atlanta’s architecture as I was with Pittsburgh, and it’s changed the way I look at cities I visit, and we’ll be sure to keep snapping photos of the good stuff we see.

4 Responses to “Atlanta’s Architecture”

  1. sartenada said

    Great building photos, but personally I like most of all from those Lions.

  2. DiningAndDishing said

    Beautiful!! And it looks like such nice weather too :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

Leave a Reply

 
