The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Dallas Architecture

Posted by gingerbreadpirate on December 13, 2009

Well, as I seem to find in every major city I go to: there’s some great architecture to be seen!   I’ll just get to the pictures, without some long, drawn out discussion.

 

IMG_1243

 

IMG_1245

I believe this is a Wells Fargo building.

IMG_1300

This was a gorgeous facade on an otherwise bland brick building.

 IMG_1265

The infamous grassy knoll, from where President John F. Kennedy may have been shot.

IMG_1262

I’m not sure if this is the aquarium, or what, but it was an older building, and the mural and architecture was very interesting. IMG_1308

  IMG_1354

This isn’t quite great architecture, but is just something interesting in the downtown.  We didn’t have time to check the museum itself out.

IMG_1357

 

IMG_1373Churches pepper the downtown area, sitting side-by-side with huge skyscrapers.  I thought this was a nice shot, showing the combination of both traditional (religious) and modern architecture.

IMG_1392

 

IMG_1381

  IMG_1408

 

 IMG_1409

 

IMG_1417

  IMG_1432

This was a beautiful museum downtown, not far from the JFK memorial.  Between the color and the shape, I just couldn’t resist taking loads of pictures.  This is probably only 1/5 of the pictures I took.

IMG_1222

IMG_1229

  

IMG_1247

 

IMG_1248

 IMG_1249

I also wanted to send a shout-out to Seife of Platinum Parking for allowing me to park without immediately paying.  I didn’t have the required $5, and he let me pay after I took all my pictures.  Thanks, Seife!

IMG_1469

3 Responses to “Dallas Architecture”

  1. Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers said

    Boo to meetings making me miss out on seeing this all in person! I like how you said “may have been shot” :o)

  2. T said

    The last building in your pictures is the former courthouse. I love that building!

Leave a Reply

 
