The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

  • Welcome to the Hungry Wanderers!

  • Have any recommendations or places you'd like us to review?

    Contact us!
    hungrywanderers AT gmail DOT com

  • Search This Blog

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • The Hungry Wanderers Las Vegas restaurants
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Big Daddy’s Burger – Dilworth

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on February 3, 2010

A few weeks ago, I was craving a burger and the Husband and I had plans to go out to dinner with some of his coworkers that were visiting from out of town.  They ended up bailing on us, but some friends quickly filled their spots! I had heard lots of good things about Big Daddy’s Burger Bar and immediately chose them as where I would get my burger fix.  They have two locations, one in Dilworth on East Blvd and one in Ballantyne.  We didn’t coordinate ahead of time, but luckily we all showed up at the same one!

IMG_1786 We were surprised and impressed that there was a wait on a Tuesday night.  We hung out outside for a short bit until our table was ready and enjoyed the energy inside.

IMG_1787

While perusing the menu, I enjoyed the simplicity of the place settings.

IMG_1788

The menu was amazing – it took me forever to decide.  I ended up choosing the White Hut which was two 100% grass fed hormone-free beef patties (Underwood Farms, which I love, was listed for at least one of the burgers), carmelized onions, American cheese, cheddar cheese, and a steamed bun.  This burger melted in my mouth! It hit the spot perfectly.  I really do believe that 100% grass fed beef is better than any other type of beef and there’s a distinct taste difference – if you haven’t tried it, you must!

IMG_1790 With the burger, we got a choice of french fries, sweet potato fries, house slaw, onion straws, tater tots, housemade potato chips, or macaroni and cheese.  (The mac n cheese is special right now and not on the menu – if it hadn’t been there, I would have gone with the tater tots!).  The mac n cheese was not one of my favorites.  Too much cheese in relation to the pasta.  It didn’t stop me from finishing the plate though! (Warning – it’s a large side! Definitely shareable!)

IMG_1789

The Husband ordered the Blue Cheese, Bacon, and Tomato Stack which was two beef patties (he actually asked for one beef patty and one portabella mushroom), blue cheese spread, tomatoes, and bacon.  He ordered the housemade chips with pimento cheese dip (we really have fallen in love with pimento cheese – thank you the South!).

IMG_1792

All put together… look how tall it is!

IMG_1793

I had to take a picture of the Husband attempting it 🙂

IMG_1794

He really enjoyed this burger, but wishes he hadn’t gone with the beef/mushroom swap.  His recommendation – if you order this, go with both beef patties!

I’m not totally sure why, but we decided to go with dessert and I’m glad we did!  The Husband ordered a Cookies & Cream Milkshake.

IMG_1795

I decided to try the Banana Pudding.  I think I’ve only had banana pudding once or twice before and never in a restaurant.  This stuff was amazing! It was made with real bananas (I’ve imagined banana pudding as mostly smooth, like chocolate pudding).  I was very impressed and took half home to enjoy the next day.  Yum!

IMG_1796

I can’t believe we waited this long to check out Big Daddy’s Burger Bar! If you’re vegetarian or don’t eat red meat, don’t think you need to steer clear.  They have lots of options for all eating types and we recommend you check them out.

Big Daddy’s Burger Bar
1626 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203





Big Daddy's Burger Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

 
