The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Boudreaux’s Louisiana Kitchen

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on February 19, 2010

A few weekends ago, the Husband and I met some friends out for a birthday party.  We were headed to Boudreaux’s Louisiana Kitchen in Noda.  The Husband had been to the Blacksburg, VA location near Virginia Tech and was looking forward to checking out one of his old favorite’s here in the Queen City.  I was looking forward to seeing what food from Louisiana was about.

Our friend had made a reservation for 14 for her birthday and called that day to change the number to 12.  Unfortunately, when we arrived they didn’t have a reservation for us!  When the hostess flipped through a a three-ring binder filled with notebook paper to search for the reservation, we somewhat understood why – quite a low tech reservation system 🙂 Luckily, we were willing to wait and they expected they’d be able to seat us about a half hour later.

IMG_1901

IMG_1886

IMG_1887

IMG_1879

Right off the bat, I knew I was going to have a Hurricane, a famous liquor filled drink from Louisiana.  The menu offered all sorts of options.  The Boudreaux’s Signature Hurricane increased in Category (like a real hurricane! my emergency management interest got a kick out of that) by adding a shot per level.  There were also a number of Hurricanes named after famous ones.  I went with the Hurricane Katrina which also donated $2 to a charity supporting continued Hurricane Katrina relief.

IMG_1881

It had Tommy Bahama White Sand Rum, Bacardi Orange Rum, Southern Comfort, Hurricane Mix, ginger ale, and grain alcohol.  Yum! :-p

IMG_1890

They also had a good beer selection including a variety straight from Louisiana.  The Husband enjoyed an Abita Jockamo IPA and an Abita Golden Lager.

IMG_1883

IMG_1889 IMG_1898

Once the group was settled with drinks, we got a few appetizers to share amongst the table.  I was most excited to try Gator Bites.  They were fine – not as amazing as folks had claimed.  A little bit more tasty than small chicken nuggets.

IMG_1891

The table also shared Crawfish & Spinach Dip.  I don’t believe I tried any of this, not realizing what it was.  I imagine it was good!

IMG_1892

The Husband ordered a cup of the Gumbo Ducharme which included shrimp, chicken, andouille sausage, and crawfish.  He really liked this gumbo, but the cornbread was dry.

IMG_1893 As usual, it took me a long time to decide what to have.  There were so many things I hadn’t had before that I wanted to try! I finally decided on an Oyster Po’Boy. This hit the spot! I’ve been wanting a po’boy for a while now and this one exceeded my expectations.  Definitely recommend this!

IMG_1894

The Husband ordered the Low Country Shrimp and Grits.  It included adouille sausage, celery, onion, and bell pepper in a white wine, lemon and butter sauce.  It wasn’t quite what he was expecting (perhaps he didn’t read the menu? 🙂 ) but he enjoyed it.

IMG_1895

While it was frustrating that the reservation was lost, I’m glad the group stuck around and didn’t have to wait long to be seated as I’m glad I got to experience what Boudreaux’s had to offer.

Boudreaux’s Louisiana Kitchen
501 E. 36th Street
Charlotte, NC 28205
704-331-9898

Boudreaux's Louisiana Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

 
