The Hungry Wanderers

Eating and exploring our way through the world

Maca’s, McCafe, McDonalds

Posted by Amanda @ The Hungry Wanderers on March 11, 2010

When discussing all of the menu options to expect and try during our stay here in Australia, one of the places the Husband’s brother insisted we try is McDonalds.  Now normally, I would generally not consider having “American” food while traveling overseas – I would much rather eat the ethnic foods of the area.  However, he insisted we try it to taste the differences between Australian McDonalds (or Maca’s as they call it – lots of slang here) and our American version.

We wanted to be able to taste it while in the Sydney area in order to have the experience with Jeff (the Husband’s brother) so when planning our drive to Hunter Valley (the closest wine country to Sydney), I suggested we get McDonalds for lunch.  As generally expected, they are everywhere, just like at home.  We decided to drive a bit and we pulled off at a highway rest stop to see what the talk was all about.

IMG_3618-1

One of the unique things I’d noticed about the McDonalds in downtown Sydney was that many of them had a McCafe sign similar to the one above.  At home, all this has referred to is the coffee they now sell (if I understand correctly).  Well, in Australian McDonalds, there’s actually another counter specifically called McCafe.  I didn’t notice it at first, once inside, but did once we sat to eat our lunch.  There was a counter, right next to the normal counter, serving pastries, desserts, coffees, and cappuccinos.

IMG_3616-1

For my lunch, I decided to order the main items I would normally get at McDonalds at home (all of these together would be eaten on my more hungry days).  I ordered a Crispy Chicken Snack Wrap and a plain Cheeseburger Happy Meal.

IMG_3615-1

First, I loved that they have actual boxes for the happy meals.  I don’t quite remember when American McDonalds completely stopped doing this, but I miss them!  Overall, the food tasted better in our Australian McDonalds.   Unfortunately, the cashier couldn’t understand what I meant when I said I wanted a plain cheeseburger (even after explaining that I wanted meat, cheese, and a bun).  Once I scrapped off as much ketchup mustard, pickles, and onions that I could (so pretty much the top bun and about half of the cheese), I really got to taste the flavor of the meat and cheese.  More flavor and the cheese was creamier.  Definitely a better choice than the American one.

As for the fries, I think they tasted generally the same – perhaps a little less greasy than the American version.

In regards to the Crispy Chicken Snack Wrap, the Australian version had a crispy chicken finger, lettuce, and what I think was mayonnaise in a flour tortilla.  The American version is preferred here which has cheese and ranch instead of mayo.  It wasn’t bad though.

Just asking the Husband right now what he thought, and he very much agreed with the meat and cheese analysis.  More flavorful and creamier respectively – definitely better than the American version.

Now back to our originally planned food consumption – as un-American as possible 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
